2017 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award Goes to Kean

He will receive the award at next month's NAB Show March 8, 2017
John Kean
WASHINGTON — John Kean will receive the 2017 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award at next month’s NAB Show.
The National Association of Broadcasters made the announcement today. Kean is a technologist familiar to many in the industry from his work at NPR and at prominent broadcast consulting firms including Cavell Mertz and Associates, where he now works. He is an editorial contributor to Radio World and his articles appear frequently in Radio World Engineering Extra. Andy Laird was last year’s NAB radio recipient; prior winners include iconic radio technology names like George Marti, Hilmer Swanson, Arno Meyer, Louis and Tom King and numerous others; see the sidebar box.
NAB also named John Lyons of the Durst Organization to receive the NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award Catherine Badalamente of Graham Media Group to receive its 2017 Digital Leadership Award. Lyons is a past recipient of Radio World’s own Excellence in Engineering Award.
Here are the official bios as released by NAB in making the announcement.
The 2017 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award
Kean joined National Public Radio in 1980 and focused on technology issues and FCC regulatory topics in his role as a senior technologist. In 1986, Kean joined Jules Cohen and Associates and then moved to Moffet, Larson and Johnson in 1988, where he consulted on broadcast and telecommunications projects. He later returned to NPR to help establish NPR Labs, an initiative that develops and evaluates new technologies, standards and procedures for public radio. He’s now a consultant with Cavell Mertz and Associates, in addition to his own private consulting practice. Kean is a past chairman of the IEEE Broadcast Symposium and the Washington, D.C. Section of the Audio Engineering Society. He is an author, frequent presenter, and holds a patent for an algorithm that determines digital broadcast radio coverage.
John Lyons
The 2017 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award
In his role as assistant vice president and director of broadcast communications for The Durst Organization, a premier office tower and residential building management company based in New York City, John Lyons is responsible for the communications needs of the entire 13 million-square-foot Durst commercial portfolio. Lyons played an important role in getting broadcasters back on the air in New York after the fall of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. He also spearheaded the design and implementation of the re-designed master antenna at 4 Times Square and more recently the new broadcast transmission facility at One World Trade Center. He has held various positions within the communications industry for over 50 years and has received numerous awards for his work with broadcasters and first responders.
Catherine Badalamente
The 2017 Digital Leadership Award
In her role as vice president of digital media for Graham Media Group, Catherine Badalamente oversees digital sales, content and technology. Under her leadership, Graham Digital has transformed from a small group of part-time employees to a leading digital development company, with top rated digital platforms in most markets. Prior to her current role, Badalamente served as director of digital media, helping create successful multi-platform convergent campaigns for clients and stations, and was successful at driving growth in both audience and revenue. Further demonstrating her commitment to the broadcast industry, Badalamente is currently the chair of the NAB Digital Officer Committee and is on the board of the Local Media Association.
Recipients of the NAB Engineering Achievement Award are listed here. Beginning in 1991, radio and TV winners were named; radio winners are shown.
1959        John T. Wilner
1960        T.A.M. Craven
1961        Raymond F. Guy
1962        Ralph N. Harmon
1963        Dr. George R. Town
1964        John H. DeWitt Jr.
1965        Edward W. Allen Jr.
1966        Carl J. Meyers
1967        Robert M. Morris
1968        Howard A. Chinn
1969        Jarrett L. Hathaway
1970        Philip Whitney
1971        Benjamin Wolfe
1972        John M. Sherman
1973        A. James Ebel
1974        Joseph B. Epperson
1975        John D. Silva
1976        Dr. Frank G. Kear
1977        Daniel H. Smith
1978        John A. Moseley
1979        Robert W. Flanders
1980        James D. Parker
1981        Wallace E. Johnson
1982        Julius Barnathan
1983        Joseph Flaherty
1984        Otis S. Freeman
1985        Carl E. Smith
1986        Dr. George Brown
1987        Renville H. McMann
1988        Jules Cohen
1989        William Connolly
1990        Hilmer Swanson
1991        George Marti
1992        Edward Edison & Robert L. Hammett
1993        Robert M. Silliman
1994        Charles T. Morgan
1995        Robert Orban
1996        Ogden Prestholdt
1997        George Jacobs
1998        John Battison
1999        Geoffrey Mendenhall
2000        Michael Dorrough
2001        Arno Meyer
2002        Paul Schafer
2003        John W. Reiser
2004        E. Glynn Walden
2005        Milford Smith
2006        Benjamin Dawson & Ronald Rackley
2007        Louis A. King
2008        Thomas B. Silliman
2009        Jack Sellmeyer
2010        Steve Church
2011         L. Robert du Treil
2012         Paul Brenner
2013         Frank Foti
2014         Jeff Littlejohn
2015         Thomas F. King
2016         Andy Laird 
2017         John Kean

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.