Additional Congressmen Oppose Radio Performance Fees

November 13, 2007

Washington - Nov 13, 2007 - The list of co-sponsors of the Congressional resolution to oppose a radio performance fee on radio stations has grown to 79. The resolution, introduced in late October, now has 79 co-sponsors including its authors, Reps. Gene Green (D-TX) and Mike Conaway (R-TX). An additional 26 Congressmen have signed on to support the resolution.

The key point of the House Concurrent Resolution 244 reads, "Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings."

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.