APRE Opens Nominations for 8th Annual Engineering Achievement Award

January 21, 2014

APRE logo

Jan 21, 2014 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) is accepting nominations for the annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award. The award will be presented at the annual APRE Engineering Awards Dinner, to be held on April 4, 2014, in Las Vegas as part of the 2014 Public Radio Engineering Conference.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a significant impact on, or improvement in the state of public radio.

The deadline for nominations is March 3, 2014. Nominate a public radio engineer with the online award nomination form at www.apre.us.

Last year's recipient was Michael LeClair, chief engineer of WBUR-FM, Boston. In 2012, Mike Starling, vice president, Technology Research Center and NPR Labs received the award.

Other past honorees include Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA, Columbia, MO; Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and New Media for WAMU-FM, Washington; the late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR's 30 original employees; Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management for WDUQ, Pittsburgh; Marty Bloss, former director of technology at NPR; Don Danko, vice president of engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio; John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center (TRC); the late Jim McEachern of NPR; Mike Pappas of KUVO in Denver and Doug Vernier of V-Soft Communications.

Questions about the award process can be directed to Roger Karwoski at karwoskir@missouri.edu.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.