APRE Seeks Nominations for 2012 Engineering Achievement Award

January 23, 2012

APRE logo

Washington - Jan 20, 2012 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) is accepting nominations for the Sixth Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award, which will be presented at the annual NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner in April 2012.

The honor recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a significant impact on, or improvement in the state of the public radio industry. The deadline for nominations is March 5, 2012

To suggest your favorite public radio engineer use the award nomination form. The form can be found at http://www.apre.us. Questions about the award process can be directed to Gordon Carter at gordon@gcarter.us.

Past honorees include:

◊ Roger Karwoski; assistant manager and director of engineering; KBIA, Columbia, MO
◊ Donald Creighton; vice president of technology; Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media
◊ Richard Cassidy; director of IT and New Media; WAMU-FM; Washington
◊ Wayne Hetrich; one of NPR's 30 original employees
◊ Chuck Leavens; director of engineering and information technology management; WDUQ, Pittsburgh
◊ Marty Bloss; former director of technology at NPR
◊ Don Danko; vice president for engineering; Cincinnati Public Radio
◊ John Kean; NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center (TRC)
◊ Jim McEachern; NPR
◊ Mike Pappas; KUVO, Denver

The 2011 honoree was Doug Vernier, CEO of Doug Vernier, Telecommunication Consultants, and president and owner of V-Soft Communications.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.