Community Stations Across Australia Begin Digital Broadcasting Service

May 3, 2011

Melbourne, Australia - Apr 14, 2011 - Nine community radio stations (including 3CR, 3 Kool n Deadly, 3MBS, PBS, 3RPH, 3RRR, 89.9 Light FM and 3ZZZ) all broadcasted live from an event that celebrated the beginning of community digital radio services in Melbourne. This broadcast event precedes the beginning of digital broadcasts by as many as 40 community broadcasters around the country.

In addition to those in Melbourne, other digital test broadcasts were carried out during April in Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth. Each community station will have access to a 64kb/s data stream broadcast via a mulitiplex transmission scheme.

The community digital radio service officially begins on May 13, 2011.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.