David Barrett Receives Broadcasters Foundation of America 2013 Golden Mike Award

October 10, 2012

New York - Oct 9, 2012 - David Barrett, president and chief executive officer, Hearst Television, will be honored by the Broadcasters Foundation of America with the 2013 Golden Mike Award on Feb. 25, 2013, at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. The black-tie fundraising gala will benefit the foundation's mission to provide aid to broadcasters in need.

David Barrett

Barrett, who leads Hearst's 29 television station group, has a career that spans TV and radio. He first joined Hearst in 1984 as general manager of the company's Baltimore radio stations, later assuming responsibility for the Hearst Radio Group, and then for WBAL-TV, Baltimore. In 1991, he was promoted to vice president of Hearst Corporation and deputy general manager of broadcasting,with operating oversight for the company's television and radio stations. He rose to his current position in 2001.

Barrett is a director of Hearst Corporation and of The Hearst Foundations. He serves on the boards of the Emma L. Bowen Foundation, the Broadcasters Foundation, the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF), and is Chairman of the Center for Communication's Board of Directors.

Previously, he served on the board of directors of the National Association of Broadcasters, as well as its executive committee. He also served on the boards of the Federal Communications Commission's Media Security and Reliability Council (MSRC II), the International Radio and Television Society (IRTS) Foundation, the Advertising Council, and Internet Broadcasting Systems. He is a past chairman of the board of governors for the ABC Television Affiliates Association.

He is the recipient of the First Amendment Leadership Award from The Radio Television Digital News Foundation, the DiGamma Kappa Distinguished Achievement Award in Broadcasting from the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism (2001), and The Media Institute's American Horizon Award (2005). He was also inducted into the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Management Hall of Fame.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.