NAB Accepting Nominations for 2011 Engineering Achievement Awards

November 8, 2010

Washington - Nov 8, 2010 – The National Association of Broadcasters is currently accepting nominations for the 2011 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards. Established in 1959, the award is presented each year to an individual for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. In 1991, the NAB began giving awards separately for achievements in radio and television. The award winners will be recognized at the Technology Luncheon at the 2011 NAB Show on April 13 in Las Vegas.

Candidates for the Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards must be or have been an owner, officer or employee of any company, subsidiary or division whose primary business is broadcasting, or directly supports broadcasting, including employees of the Federal government directly engaged in broadcast engineering work.

The size of the organization with which each candidate is affiliated is not a determining factor. The merits of the contributions to broadcast engineering are the sole factors that will be taken into account. The candidates for the two Engineering Achievement Awards will be evaluated on the basis of a single significant contribution or multiple contributions made over a period of time that, taken together, have significantly advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering.

The candidates shall have made contributions in the following categories:

  • Inventions
  • Development of new techniques
  • Dissemination of technical knowledge and literature
  • Leadership in broadcast engineering affairs
  • An outstanding contribution which, in the opinion of the NAB Executive Committee, warrants consideration.

    The period of time encompassed by the engineering contributions of the candidates for the awards should be reasonable. The NAB Executive Committee will select the award winners. The Committee will emphasize the more recent achievements of the nominees.

    The nomination form is available on the NAB's website. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 21, 2011.

  • Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.