NAB Education Foundation Presents 13th Annual Celebration of Service to America Awards

December 8, 2011

Washington, DC - Jun 3, 2011 - The 13th annual Celebration of Service to America Awards, produced by the NAB Education Foundation (NABEF), will take place June 6 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC. The dinner and awards presentation will recognize the exceptional public service contributions of radio and television broadcasters and will include the presentation of NABEF's highest honor, the Service to America Leadership Award, recognizing individuals and organizations that have improved the lives of others through extraordinary public service.

The 2011 Service to America gala will feature the presentation of the Service to America Television Award, Service to Children Awards and Service to Community Awards, honoring local broadcasters for their outstanding commitment to community service and charitable fundraising. The winning broadcast stations are:

  • WDIV Detroit, MI (Service to America Television Award)
  • WHUR-FM Washington, DC (Service to Children Radio Award)
  • WLKY Louisville, KY (Service to Children Television Award)
  • KPLU-FM Tacoma, WA (Service to Community Radio Award)
  • WHTM-TV Harrisburg, PA (Service to Community Television Award)

    The presentation of the Service to America Leadership Award will recognize Jeff Bridges for his dedication to ending childhood hunger in America. NABEF's Corporate Leadership Award will acknowledge Target for its exemplary focus on community service and corporate social responsibility. 

Deborah Norville, host of "Inside Edition," will serve as master of ceremonies.

  • Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.