Nominations Open for APRE Engineering Achievement Award

January 30, 2009


Washington - Jan 30, 2009 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) is accepting nominations for the Third Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award, which will be presented at the annual NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner in Las Vegas.

Past honorees were Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and New Media for WAMU(FM), Washington; the late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR''s 30 original employees; Chuck Leavens, Director of Engineering and Information Technology Management for WDUQ, Pittsburgh; and Marty Bloss, former Director of Technology at NPR.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a significant impact on, or improvement in the state of the public radio industry. The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2009.

Submit nominations by completing the form on the APRE website. Completed forms and questions can be sent to Gordon Carter.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.