NWS Adds New County in Colorado

December 18, 2001

Washington, DC - Dec 17, 2001 - On March 12, 2002, at 8:00am Mountain Standard Time, the National Weather Service office in Denver will begin including Broomfield County, a new county in Colorado, in NWS forecasts and warnings. If severe weather is occurring or forecast to occur at the scheduled implementation time, a service change notice will be issued to postpone this change until March 13, 2002, at 8:00am MST.

Broomfield County was established in Colorado in November 2001. The new county was previously known as the city of Broomfield, and was formed from portions of Adams, Boulder, Jefferson and Weld counties.

In recognizing the new county in Colorado on March 12, 2002, two significant changes will be made:

  • Colorado zones 39, 40, and 43 will be modified
  • a new Federal Information Processing System (FIPS) code will be used for Broomfield County.

    The FIPS codes for these counties are shown in the table below.

    Colorado County FIPS Code
    Adams 001
    Boulder 013
    Jefferson 059
    Weld 123

  • Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.