Obama Nominates Baker and Mignon for FCC Posts

June 26, 2009

Washington - June 26, 2009 - The same day the Senate confirmed Julius Genachowski to be chairman of the FCC and confirmed Robert McDowell for another term as commissioner, President Barack Obama nominated Meredith Attwell Baker and Mignon Clyburn for FCC posts. The Clyburn nomination up to now had not been official.

Baker is up for the Republican seat vacated by former FCC Chairman Kevin Martin. Clyburn is up for the Democrat seat vacated by Deborah Taylor Tate. If approved, Baker's term would end June 30, 2011, and Clyburn's term would end July 1, 2012.

Mignon Clyburn

Baker was the acting head of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration before exiting in January. Baker joined the NTIA in 2004 as a senior advisor. She oversaw the DTV Coupon program during her term. Previously, Baker was vice president of Williams Mullen Strategies and, prior to that, director of congressional affairs at the Cellular Telecommunications Industry Association.

If all the confirmations are approved, Baker and McDowell will hold the two Republican seats, while Michel Copps, Genachowski and Clyburn will hold Democrat seats.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.