SBE National Election Results for 2009

August 28, 2009

Indianapolis - Aug 28, 2009 - The Society of Broadcast Engineers has tallied the results of its national elections. Ballots were mailed to SBE members at the end of July, and on the evening of August 27, the board of tellers -- comprised of members from SBE chapter 25 Indianapolis -- tallied the results. Four officer seats and six of the 12 board seats were on the ballot.

Vinny Lopez

Elected to his first term as president is Vincent Lopez, CEV CBNT. Lopez is the director of engineering for WSYT/WNYS-TV, Syracuse, NY. Lopez most recently served two terms as vice president of the society.

When asked about his vision for the future of the society, Lopez replied, "The SBE needs to update its overall member services to leverage the Internet age. With a tight economy, our members need critical information about education programs, training, certification, job opportunities and networking with peers. I hope to enhance the SBE website to offer video, tutorials, chats with various SBE staff, officers, and directors, and important industry people. For starters, we are in the process of an update to JobsOnline that will make it more user-friendly and accessible to job seekers and employers."

Radio magazine also asked about his plans for educational opportunities. Lopez said, "I also envision low- or no-cost educational webinars provided to SBE members by noted authorities on topics of interest to members, much like our successful RF Safety course. I see an online channel with SBE content and information running 24/7 as well as on-demand material."

Elected to the position of vice president is Ralph Hogan, CPBE DRB CBNT. Hogan is director of engineering for KJZZ-FM/KBAQ-FM/Sun Sounds of Arizona in Tempe, AZ. He most recently served two terms as treasurer of the SBE.

Reelected to his third term as secretary is Ted Hand, CPBE AMD 8-VSB CBNT, chief engineer of WSOC-TV/WAXM-TV in Charlotte, NC.

Elected to the position of treasurer is Andrea Cummis, CBT CTO, a broadcast technology consultant and project manager with Media Project Partners in Roseland, NJ. Cummis has served several terms on the SBE board of directors.

SBE officers serve one-year terms.

SBE logo

The SBE board of directors is occupied by 12 elected directors and the immediate past president. Barry Thomas will become the immediate past president when the new officers are sworn in. Each director serves a two-year term, and the board seats are staggered so that six of the 12 positions are included in each annual election. There were eight candidates for the six open seats. Elected to the board to begin two-year terms are:

  • Mark Heller, CBRE CTO; president, general manager and chief engineer; WTRW Incorporated/WGBW Radio; Two Rivers, WI
  • James E. Leifer, CPBE; director of engineering and IT; Clear Channel Communications - Palm Beach
  • Jerry Massey, CPBE DRB AMD 8-VSB CBNT; corporate regional engineer; Entercom Communications; Greenville, SC
  • David Priester, CPBE; director of technical operations; , Roy H. Park School of Communications, Ithaca College; Ithaca, NY
  • Chriss Scherer, CPBE CBNT; editor, Radio magazine; Overland Park, KS
  • Joe Snelson, CPBE; director of engineering; Meredith Broadcasting Group; Henderson, NV

    The remaining six members of the board of directors currently in the middle of their two-year terms are Ralph Beaver, CBT, president, CEO, Media Alert, Tampa, FL; Jim Bernier, CPBE CBNT, director, maintenance, design and engineering, Turner Entertainment Networks, TBS, Alpharetta, GA; Gary Liebisch, CPBE, regional sales manager, Nautel, Milford, OH; Scott Mason, CPBE, regional director of engineering, CBS Radio, Los Angeles; Mark Simpson, CPBE CBNT AMD, director of engineering/MIS, Citadel Broadcasting - Tucson, Marana, AZ; and Jeff R. Smith, CEA CBNT, supervisor broadcast systems, CE WWPR, Clear Channel Radio - NYC, New York City.

    Candidates elected will take office following an induction ceremony held during the SBE National Meeting on Oct. 7, in Verona, NY. The national meeting is being held in conjunction with the Broadcast and Technology Expo, sponsored by Chapter 22 of Central New York State.

  • Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.