Senate Confirms Clyburn for Second FCC Term

January 2, 2013

Mignon Clyburn

Washington - Jan 1, 2013 - The Senate voted unanimously late Tuesday night to confirm Mignon L. Clyburn for a second term at the Federal Communications Commission. Clyburn completed the term of commissioner Jonathan Adelstein when he took a position at the Agriculture Department. Clyburn was nominated as a member of the Federal Communications Commission on June 25, 2009, and sworn in August 3, 2009. Her term ran until June 30, 2012. Her new term is retroactive to July 1, 2012, and runs until June 30, 2017.

Prior to her swearing in as Commissioner, Clyburn served for 11 years as the representative of South Carolina's sixth district on the Public Service Commission of South Carolina (PSC). She was sworn in for her first term in July 1998, and was subsequently reelected in 2002 and 2006. She served as chair of the PSC from July 2002 through June 2004.

Commissioner Clyburn has received a number of honors and awards, including being selected as the 2006 James C. Bonbright Honoree (awarded by the Southeastern Energy Conference, Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia) and receiving the 2007 Lincoln C. Jenkins Award for business and community contributions presented by the Columbia (SC) Urban League.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.