Senate Confirms Pai and Rosenworcel as FCC Commissioners

May 7, 2012

Washington - May7, 2012 - The Senate has confirmed Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel as the newest members of the Federal Communications Commission. The confirmations had been on hold by Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), who wanted the FCC to release documents on wireless startup LightSquared. A compromise on documentation had been reached between the FCC and Grassley.

Ajit Pai

The Senate unanimously approved the two nominees. Democrat Jessica Rosenworcel and Republican Ajit Pai fill the two empty seats at the FCC.

Jessica Rosenworcel

Pai fills the seat left open by Meredith Attwell Baker, who left the FCC to become NBC's lobbyist after the FCC approved Comcast's acquisition of a majority stake in NBCUniversal from General Electric. Pai has worked as a Senate staffer and in the FCC's general counsel's office under Julius Genachowski. Pai has been a partner in the litigation department of law firm Jenner and Block.

Rosenworcel fills the seat previously held by Michael Copps. She served as a legal adviser for Mr. Copps at the FCC for four years before leaving to become a telecom adviser to Senate Commerce Committee Chairman Jay Rockefeller (D-WV).

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.