Sutter Named "Frances Preston Trailblazer"

August 7, 2014

WASHINGTON—The Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio Group says Shooting Star Broadcasting''s President and CEO Diane Sutter will receive the 6th annual MIW Radio Group Trailblazer Award on Thursday, September 11 during the Leadership Breakfast at the 2014 Radio Show.

The Radio Show, held September 10-12 at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, is produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau and the National Association of Broadcasters.

The Trailblazer Award is presented to women who make opportunities available for other women in the radio industry. In 2012, it was renamed the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in honor of Preston, longtime president and CEO of BMI and MIW member.

Fourteen years ago, Sutter created and developed the Broadcast Leadership Training Program for women and minorities sponsored by the NAB Education Foundation. Ttoday, she serves as the program''s dean and also teaches many sessions. Sutter is credited with elevating the leadership skills and careers of over 220 graduates.

“Her leadership, commitment, generosity and passion on behalf of women, minorities and the radio industry made her the natural choice for this well-deserved honor as this year''s MIW Trailblazer,” said MIW Radio Group Spokesperson Kay Olin.

The MIWs are dedicated to using their influence and resources to support women in radio to develop strong management and leadership skills. The MIWs are equally committed to advocating the advancement of women to senior positions in radio companies and corporations.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.