Three Broadcasters Join Euro-Chip Initiative

December 24, 2013

Geneva - Dec 17, 2013 - The Netherlands' SkyRadio, Belgium's RTL, and Germany's APR have joined the Euro-chip initiative. The purpose behind the initiative - integration of FM and DAB/DAB+ chips in every radio device - is now shared by 16 broadcast organizations throughout Europe.

Germany's APR (Association of Private Broadcasters) represents nearly 300 local and regional radio and TV stations. Netherlands' SkyGroup, with multiple radio stations, represents a market share comparable to that of NPO. In Belgium, RTL and public broadcaster RTBF account for nearly 65 percent of the radio audience.

Receive regular news and technology updates. Sign up for our free newsletter here.