AES Educational Foundation Announces 2012 Awards

Publish date:

AES Educational Foundation Announces 2012 Awards

Aug 17, 2012 2:45 PM

New York - Aug 17, 2012 - Don Puluse, president of the Audio Engineering Society Educational Foundation, and its board of directors, have announced the recipients of the 2012 AES educational grants for graduate studies in the field of audio engineering. "This year our Emil Torick Scholar is Matthias Leimeister, who will pursue an MSi in media technology in audio signal processing from the Technische Universitat Ilmenau," Puluse said. "Leimeister holds a degree in mathematics from the University of Heidelberg. The Emil Torick Award honors an outstanding student with exceptional career goals."

Image placeholder title

The John Eargle Award, given annually to a student who excels in technology and music, was presented to Ross Penniman, candidate for an MS in music engineering from the University of Miami. Penniman holds a BM and a BS from University of Michigan.

Other awards were also announced.
� Areti Andreopoulos is studying for her PhD at the Steinhart School of NYU. She has a degree from the University of Athens, Greece, and an MM in music technology from Steinhart.
� Christos Manolas, receives a renewal grant for his PhD studies at the University of York. Manolas has a degree from the New Music School, Thessaloniki, Greece, and two masters' degrees from University of York.
� Magdalena Plewa is pursuing a PhD at Gdansk University of Technology in audio engineering and telecommunication. She has a MSc. from AGH University of Science and Technology in Krakow, Poland. She is current president of the AES International Student Delegate Assembly.
� Jamie Tagg will begin his studies towards a PhD in sound recording from McGill University. He has a BM from the University of Miami in music engineering technology, and a MM in Sound Recording Technology from U. Mass Lowell.
� Mauricio J. Gargel receives a renewal grant to continue his studies towards an MFA in recording arts at MTSU. He has a degree in social communication from Univerdidade Metodista de S�o Paulo, Brazil and studied audio at the Institute of Audio and Video.
� Scott Levine continues his studies at McGill University for an MM in sound recording. He receives a renewal grant. His previous degree is in music technology from the University of California at San Diego.
� Hannah Robertson holds a BA in physics from Middlebury College. She continues with a renewal grant at McGill University for an MS in music technology.

The Board of Directors has also announced the addition of two new members, Bob Moses and Jim Anderson. Moses, a product designer, technologist, and pro audio industry advocate, is executive director of the AES. Anderson, a Grammy Award- winning producer and engineer, is a former president and governor of the AES and a professor at NYU.

The AES Educational Foundation was established in 1984 to encourage talented students to enter the profession of audio engineering. Grants for graduate studies with emphasis on audio topics are awarded annually. Recipients are selected on the basis of demonstrated talent, achievements, goals and recommendations. Since its inception, the AESEF has presented 170 grants at 60 universities worldwide, totaling over seven hundred thousand dollars. Grants have been made possible by contributions from the AES, the estate of John K. Hilliard, JBL, the Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio, and the families of John Eargle, David Smith, and Emil Torick. The AES also receives support from other benefactors such as in memoriam donors and individuals and companies that support education in audio.

133rd AES Convention Signals Expanded Broadcast/Streaming Media Sessions

The topics range from studio design, to processing, to audio routing....

AES, EBU Cooperate on Audio over IP Standard

The two organizations collaborated on the AES3 standard, and this effort is a continuation of that work....