APRE Engineering Achievement Award Seeks 2011 Nominees

Publish date:

APRE Engineering Achievement Award Seeks 2011 Nominees

Feb 23, 2011 9:00 AM

Image placeholder title

Washington - Feb 19, 2011 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) is accepting nominations for the Fifth Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award, which will be presented at the annual NPR Labs/APRE engineering dinner held just prior to the 2011 NAB Show in Las Vegas.

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a significant impact on, or improvement in the state of the public radio industry.

The deadline for nominations is March 7, 2011. To nominate a public radio engineer use the award nomination form at www.apre.us. Questions about the award process can be directed to Gordon Carter.

The Past honorees are:
Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering, KBIA, Columbia, MO
Donald Creighton, vice president of technology, Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media
Richard Cassidy, director of IT and New Media, WAMU, Washington
The late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR's 30 original employees
Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management, WDUQ, Pittsburgh
Marty Bloss, former director of technology, NPR
Don Danko, vice president for engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio
John Kean, NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center (TRC)

Last year's honorees were the late Jim McEachern of NPR and Mike Pappas of KUVO Denver.

Olds to Receive 2011 Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award

The award will be presented posthumously at the Broadcasters Foundation of America Breakfast at the NAB Show on April 13....

Du Treil, Keller to Receive NAB Engineering Achievement Awards at 2011 NAB Show

The NAB established the Engineering Achievement Award in 1959 to recognize technical accomplishments and contributions to the broadcast industry....