NRSC Announces New DRB Subcommittee Co-Chairs

Publish date:

NRSC Announces New DRB Subcommittee Co-Chairs

Sep 11, 2014 11:38 AM, Doug Irwin, CPBE AMD DRB

INDIANAPOLIS�Glynn Walden, senior vice president, CBS Radio, and Jackson Wang, president and CEO, e-Radio, Inc. have been selected to co-chair the National Radio Systems Committee''s Digital Radio Broadcast (DRB) Subcommittee. The NRSC is a technical standards-setting body co-sponsored by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA).

Walden and Wang succeed Andy Laird, former VP and CTO of Journal Broadcast Group, who has served at the helm of the DRB Subcommittee since 2007, when he succeeded Milford Smith, VP of radio engineering with Greater Media, as Smith became (and still is) the NRSC Full Committee chair. During Laird's tenure, a number of important NRSC documents were developed including the latest revision of the NRSC digital radio Standard, NRSC-5-C, which described significant new capabilities including operation with asymmetric digital sidebands (AM and FM band), operation with increased digital carrier power (FM band), and operation with reduced digital bandwidth (AM band).