Partnership for Public Warning Appoints Board Members

Publish date:

Partnership for Public Warning Appoints Board Members

Jan 31, 2002 12:00 PM

McLean, VA - Jan 31, 2002 - The Partnership for Public Warning (PPW) has appointed its board of trustees. The PPW ( is a new public-private partnership that is bringing the nation's top emergency warning experts together to resolve national warning message standards, protocols and priorities. The goal is to assure the right information is delivered in a timely manner to people at risk from disasters, technological accidents and acts of terrorism. As the new organization is taking shape, PPW is engaged in discussion with key federal agencies in the emergency warning community to ensure the inclusion of all stakeholders.

The organization's first conference, held in November 2001, was hosted by MITRE, a not-for-profit national technology resource that provides systems engineering, research and development, and information technology support to the government. The partnership was created following a unanimous supporting vote by more than 120 conference attendees who are leaders in the emergency warning community. Less than two months later, the PPW was incorporated as the Partnership for Public Warning Institute.

Those named to the Partnership for Public Warning Board are:

  • Art Botterell - consultant, formerly with the California Office of Emergency Services and FEMA.
  • Joel Carter - vice president, RadioShack
  • Darrell Ernst - lead defense space systems engineer, The MITRE Corporation
  • Sol Glasner - vice president and general counsel, The MITRE Corporation
  • Mike Hoban - vice president, 3e Technologies International
  • Ken Keane - partner, Arter and Hadden
  • Dave Liebersbach - director, Alaska Division of Emergency Services
  • Frank Lucia - formerly FCC Emergency Alert System
  • Dennis Mileti - director, Natural Hazards Research and Applications Information Center, University of Colorado
  • Mike Murphy - wireless networks strategist, Nextel Communications, Inc.
  • George Nichols - vice president, Dialogic Communications Corporation
  • Dr. Barbara Reagor - fellow and executive partner, Homeland Security and Government Solutions, Telcordia Technologies, Inc.
  • Ben Rotholtz - general manager, products and systems, RealNetworks
  • Richard Rudman - director of engineering, KFWB Radio; chairman, FCC's Emergency Alert System National Advisory Committee
  • Ed VonTurkovich - director, Vermont Emergency Management
  • Peter Ward (chairman) - former, U.S. Geological Survey; former chairman of the Working Group on Natural Disaster Information Systems under the National Science and Technology Council