Sirius Up to 18 States for Service

Publish date:

Sirius Up to 18 States for Service

May 1, 2002 12:00 PM

New York - May 1, 2002 - Sirius Satellite Radio has begun service in seven additional states: Arkansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, Oklahoma and Utah. The Sirius accelerated rollout brings the total number of states served to 18. By late May, service will officially be available throughout the entire Midwest region, after which Sirius will concentrate on the Southeast.

The new service launch follows Sirius' announcement to move its nationwide service launch date up by one month. The move also focused on launching service by states and not just by cities.

Sirius was already available in the following states: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming, plus the original service launch cities of Houston and Jackson, MS.