AFCCE and IEEE BTS Hand Out Spring Scholarships

Ten students were awarded a total of $32,000, including inaugural IEEE Broadcast Technology Society/AFCCE Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarships
Publish date:

WASHINGTON � The Association of Federal Communications Consulting Engineers and the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society has given out ten scholarships to students interested in telecommunications.

�AFCCE is committed to helping develop engineering talent in radio frequency technologies, including antennas, propagation, transmission, and spectrum management. These scholarships represent our largest ever award to promising students whom we hope will help shape the future of telecommunications,� AFCCE President Bob Weller said in the press announcement.

Martin Doczkat and William Shifflett were the first recipients of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society/AFCCE Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarships, which awards up to $10,000 to undergraduate or graduate students studying at accredited U.S. universities. Evaluated by an AFCCE scholarship committee, including IEEE BTS members, Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarship applicants are ranked based on their interest in broadcast engineering, as evidenced in a personal statement, their academic record, financial need and relevant extracurricular activities.�

�We look forward to honoring the memory and work of Jules Cohen by helping develop the students that will lead the evolution of broadcasting into the future,� IEEE BTS President Bill Hayes said in the release.�

Shane Cyr was the recipient of the E. Noel Luddy Scholarship, which is sponsored by Raymond, Maine-based Dielectric Communications.

The other spring 2017 scholarship recipients were: Dhantha Gunarathna, Drexel University; Mohammad Islam, University of Missouri; Elaine Khuu, Virginia Tech; Abdullah Njie, Georgia Tech; Prosanta Paul, Old Dominion University; Tyler Turcotte, University of Massachusetts; and Rafida Zaman, University of Missouri.�

Scholarship amounts ranged from $750 to $10,000.�

AFCCE has awarded scholarships for over 30 years to undergraduate and graduate students. Applicants must be enrolled in an engineering or related technical curriculum at an accredited U.S. university and demonstrate a good academic record, and undergraduates must have junior or senior standing. The applications for the Fall 2017 semester will be accepted March 1 through April 30.


SBE Certification Exams promo image

Four Ennes Scholarship Recipients Named

The John H. Battison Founder’s Scholarship, Robert D. Greenberg Scholarship and Harold E. Ennes Scholarship are awarded annually to individuals pursuing broadcast education