APRE Accepts Nominations for Fourth Engineering Achievement Award

Publish date:

APRE Accepts Nominations for Fourth Engineering Achievement Award

Jan 19, 2010 9:51 AM

Image placeholder title

Washington - Jan 15, 2010 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) is accepting nominations for the Fourth Annual APRE Engineering Achievement Award, which will be presented at the annual NPR Labs/APRE Engineering Dinner in Las Vegas in April 2010.

Past honorees were Roger Karwoski, assistant manager and director of engineering for KBIA, Columbia, MO; Donald Creighton, vice president of technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media; Richard Cassidy, director of IT and new media for WAMU(FM), Washington; the late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR's 30 original employees; Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management for WDUQ, Pittsburgh; and Marty Bloss, former director of technology at NPR.

Last year's honorees were Don Danko, vice president for engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio, and John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center (TRC).

The honor is to be awarded to a single individual for outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that have made a significant impact on, or improvement in the state of the public radio industry.

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2010. The nomination form is posted at the APRE website. Questions about the award process can be directed to Gordon Carter.

APRE Announces 2009 Engineering Award Recipients

Two engineers were honored: John Kean of NPR and Don Danko of Cincinnati Public Radio....

APRE 2008 Announces Award Recipients

The public radio engineers will honor their colleagues at a dinner on on April 11...