APRE Announces 2009 Engineering Award Recipients

Publish date:

APRE Announces 2009 Engineering Award Recipients

Apr 18, 2009 10:00 PM

Image placeholder title

Las Vegas - Apr 18, 2009 - The Association of Public Radio Engineers (APRE) has announced the recipients of the 2009 Engineering Achievement Awards. In a presentation at the annual PREC dinner, two engineers were honored: John Kean and Don Danko. The presentation was made by Roger Karwoski on behalf of the Awards Committee.

John Kean is the senior technologist at NPR Labs. Kean has been the technical brains behind the DRCIA project, which examined digital coverage for radio stations. This project advanced the art in predicting coverage and using the new methods to study the effects of possible increases in the digital signal levels. In his work with DRCIA, he invented and tested a measurement antenna where no standard existed and the designed and implemented tests to study different subcarrier levels. His work has helped advance the level of knowledge of radio propagation.

Image placeholder title

Don Danko is vice president for engineering of Cincinnati Public Radio (WGUC, WVXU and WMUB). Under Danko's leadership, Cincinnati Public Radio has maintained a respected position in the technical community. WGUC was the first public radio station in Ohio to broadcast with HD Radio technology. The station partnered with NPR and Harris in the early rollout of digital transmitters. Danko is currently working with Harris to experiment with increased power levels for the digital sidebands. He has also been instrumental in testing and utilizing surround sound technology for recording and broadcasting a variety of concert performances.

Danko is regular contributor to Radio magazine. He has authored Field Reports as well as case studies on installing multicast and working in surround.

Last year's honorees were Chuck Leavens, director of engineering and information technology management at WDUQ Pittsburgh, and Marty Bloss, formerly the Public Radio Satellite System (PRSS.)

The members of the APRE Awards Committee for 2009 are Gordon Carter, WFMT, Chicago, IL - chairman; Roger Karwoski, KBIA, Columbia, MO; Rich Parker, Vermont Public Radio; Jobie Sprinkle, WFAE, Charlotte, NC; and Bruce Wahl, NPR, Washington, DC.

APRE 2008 Announces Award Recipients

The public radio engineers will honor their colleagues at a dinner on on April 11...

Don Danko Articles

Implementing Surround

When WGUC initially made the transition to HD Radio in 2003 it was looking forward to the added benefits it would bring, such as the ability to broadcast 5.1 surround sound. The station is now transmitting surround broadcasts whenever possible.

Case Study: Installing multicast

Broadcasters have sought the killer application for FM HD Radio, and at first glance it looked like program-service data was going to be it.

Field Report: Audio-Technica AT3060

The AT3060 is a large-diaphragm, phantom-powered tube microphone, with shock-mounted, hand selected, tested and aged tubes.

Field Report: Danagger Audio Works Plan B

Dead air is a program director's worst nightmare, and while no station is immune from it, this is easy insurance.