APRE Now Accepting Nominations for Engineering Award

The deadline to submit a name is March 17
Publish date:

CHARLOTTE, N.C. � TheAssociation of Public Radio Engineersis seeking nominations for its annual Engineering Achievement Award. The winner will be recognized at the Public Radio Engineering Conference in Las Vegas this April.

The award goes to individuals who have made �outstanding contributions to the art and/or science of radio engineering that has made a significant impact on, or improvement in, the state of the public radio industry,� according to the announcement.

The submission form is available fordownloadand must be emailed toawards@apre.usby March 17.

The 2016 recipient was Ralph Hogan, past founding president of APRE.

Other past honorees include: �

  • Ralph Woods, retired NPR
  • Bud Aiello of NPR and Gray Frierson Haertig
  • Michael LeClair, chief engineer for WBUR(FM)
  • Mike Starling, former Vice President, Technology Research Center and NPR Labs,�
  • Roger Karwoski, Assistant Manager and Director of Engineering for KBIA, Columbia, MO
  • Donald Creighton, VP of Technology for Minnesota Public Radio and American Public Media. Richard Cassidy, Director of IT and New Media for WAMU(FM), Washington
  • The late Wayne Hetrich, one of NPR's 30 original employees
  • Chuck Leavens, Director of Engineering and IT management for WDUQ, Pittsburgh
  • Marty Bloss, former Director of Technology at NPR
  • Don Danko, Vice President for Engineering, Cincinnati Public Radio
  • John Kean of NPR Labs, part of NPR Distribution's Technology Research Center�
  • The late Jim McEachern of NPR
  • Mike Pappas of KUVO in Denver�
  • Doug Vernier of V-Soft Communications