ARRL Announces Two New Scholarships for Ham Radio Operators

One targets women, another is for Georgia residents
Publish date:

NEWINGTON, Conn. � The ARRL Foundation Board of Directors has announced two new scholarships. The Helen Laughlin AM Mode Memorial Scholarship is intended for female amateur radio operators, and the Atlanta Radio Club Scholarship is for Georgians between 17 and 25 years old.

Image placeholder title

The winners will be deemed academically superior by the foundation, and applicants must be U.S. citizens.

Applications for both scholarships must be received before midnight on Jan. 31, 2017.

The Helen Laughlin AM Mode Memorial Scholarship is an educational scholarship funded by the Laughlin-Beers Foundation. The $1,000 scholarship award will be given out annually.

Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited four-year college or university and she must hold a General or higher Amateur Radio license. It is suggested that the applicant have made a contact in AM mode, but it is not required.

Additionally, the foundation says that applicants from Texas will be given first preference, but if no qualified applicant is identified, then that status falls to applicants from Arkansas. And if no one from either of those states apply, then preference will be given to applicants residing in the ARRL West Gulf or Delta Division states (Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee).

Also, if no women qualify, then the award will go to a qualifying male applicant.

The Atlanta Radio Club Scholarship�s $500 award is funded by the Atlanta Radio Club and is intended to provide assistance with the costs of tuition, room, board, books and/or other fees essential to the advanced education of the recipient. Applicants must attend an accredited four-year college or university, or graduate program and hold a Technician or higher Amateur Radio license.

The ARRL Foundation is currently accepting applications for more than 80 scholarships ranging from $500 to $5,000.


SBE Certification Exams promo image

Four Ennes Scholarship Recipients Named

The John H. Battison Founder’s Scholarship, Robert D. Greenberg Scholarship and Harold E. Ennes Scholarship are awarded annually to individuals pursuing broadcast education

AES Announces Tom Kite Scholarship promo image

AES Announces Tom Kite Scholarship

In honor of former Vice President of Engineering for Audio Precision and AES member Tom Kite, the Audio Engineering Society Educational Foundation has established the “Advancing Audio – The Tom Kite Scholarship.”