Cox Consolidates Divisions as Cox Media Group

Publish date:

Cox Consolidates Divisions as Cox Media Group

Dec 4, 2008 3:39 PM

Atlanta - Dec 3, 2008 - Cox Enterprises is bringing its three media units -- Cox Newspapers, Cox Television and Cox Radio -- under a new organization named Cox Media Group, effective January 2009. The subsidiary will be headquartered in Atlanta, and Cox veteran Sandy Schwartz will serve as president.

The businesses comprising Cox Media Group will include 17 daily and 26 non-daily newspaper publications, 15 television broadcast stations, 86 radio stations, more than 100 digital services associated with these businesses and Valpak. Cox's planned sale of Valpak and newspaper assets in Texas, North Carolina and Colorado continues during this reorganization.

Following the formation of Cox Media Group, Cox Radio will continue to trade publicly on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol CXR.