FCC Appoints Members for WARN Committee

Publish date:

FCC Appoints Members for WARN Committee

Dec 11, 2006 3:00 PM

Image placeholder title

Washington - Dec 5, 2006 - The Warning Alert and Response Network (WARN) Act directed the FCC to appoint members to serve on the Commission's Commercial Mobile Service Alert Advisory Committee. FCC Chairman Kevin Martin will chair the Committee. The purpose of the committee is to develop and recommend technical standards and protocols to facilitate the voluntary transmission of emergency alerts by Commercial Mobile Service (CMS) providers. The committee's recommendations must be submitted to the Commission within one year from the date of enactment of the WARN Act: Oct. 12, 2007.

The members of the committee follow.

State and Local Government Representatives Art Botterell Contra Costa County, CA Thomas Lyon International Association of Fire Chiefs Kevin McGinnis National Association of State EMS Officials Richard Mirgon Association of Public Safety Communications Officials Jonathan Werbell City of New York, NY Tribal Government Representatives R. Dale Gehman Poarch Band of Creek Indians Representatives of Communications Service Providers Brian Daly Cingular Wireless Gary K. Jones T-Mobile USA Jay Pabley Sprint Nextel Doug Rutledge Alltel Edward A. Salas Verizon Wireless Representatives of Vendors, Developers and Manufacturers Stephen Carter Qualcomm Amar Deol Nortel Stephen Hayes Ericsson Rob Kubik Motorola Gadi Mazor Onset Technology Ilkka Juhani Niva Nokia Billy Pitts NTI Group Representatives of Third-Party Service Bureaus Robin Erkkila Intrado Anthony M. Rutkowski Verisign Paul Wilcock Syniverse Technologies Broadcaster Representatives with Technical Expertise Ann Arnold Texas Association of Broadcasters Patrick Roberts Florida Association of Broadcasters William Wertz Michigan Association of Broadcasters Kelly Williams National Association of Broadcasters Representative of National Organization Representing Noncommercial Broadcast TV John Lawson Association of Public Television Stations Representatives of National Organizations Representing Individuals with Special Needs Hilary C. Styron National Organization on Disability Marcia Brooks WGBH National Center for Accessible Media Other Technical Representatives Edward Czarnecki Spectrarep Stephen Oshinsky American Association of Paging Carriers Art Prest Rural Cellular Association Maria Estefania Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions Marion Dunn Tutor Mississippi Council on Aging Cheryl Blum Telecommunications Industry Association Leslie Chapman-Henderson Flash Representatives of Other Qualified Stakeholders and Interested Parties Kevin Briggs Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Dale Barr National Communications System, U.S. Department of Homeland Security Edward Fritts Global Security Systems Christopher Guttman-McCabe CTIA Raymond Ban The Weather Channel

The first meeting of the group will be held Dec. 12, 2006 in the Commission Meeting Room (TW-C305) in Washington. The meeting is open to members of the general public. The agenda will cover the advisory committee structure and mission statements, an alerting tutorial, an introduction of the advisory committee members, and a review schedule.