George Beasley Inducted Into Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame

Publish date:

George Beasley Inducted Into Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame

Sep 9, 2008 8:39 AM

Image placeholder title

Naples, FL - Sep 9, 2008 - George Beasley, chairman and chief executive officer of Beasley Broadcast Group, was inducted into the Nevada Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame. A "Who's Who" of Nevada Broadcasting, the Hall of Fame thanks and pays tribute to those broadcasters who have dedicated 20 years or more to the industry. The individual path taken by each inductee is unique and special.

Beasley Broadcast entered the Las Vegas market in 2000 with the purchase of Centennial Broadcasting's three FM stations. Today, the Beasley Las Vegas five-station cluster includes 96.3 KKLZ-FM, 102.7 KFRH-FM, 104.3 KCYE-FM, 720 KDWN-AM and 790 KBET-AM.

George Beasley founded Beasley Broadcast Group in 1961 when he constructed his first radio station, WPYB-AM, a 500-watt daytime-only station in Benson, NC. In 1966, he sold WPYB to acquire WFMC-AM in Goldsboro, NC, which became the cornerstone in the development of the company. Over the next 40-plus years, Beasley has acquired and improved under-performing stations and has purchased or invested in approximately 100 stations across the country. Today, the company owns or operates 44 stations (27 FM and 17 AM) located in 11 markets in the United States.

Also inducted into the NBA Hall of Fame in honor of their more than 20 years in broadcasting were seven employees of Beasley Broadcast Las Vegas: account executives Rick Denton (43 years) and Corky St. Germaine (30 years); on-air talent Tom Kelly (34 years), Mike Manko (28 years), Jeff Anderson (27 years) and Rob Banks (23 years), and production manager Gus Stone (23 years).