Giants of Broacasting Honors NAB's Fritts

Publish date:

Giants of Broacasting Honors NAB's Fritts

Oct 8, 2010 9:32 AM

College Park, MD - Oct 7, 2010 - The Library of American Broadcasting inducted 11 people into its Giants of Broadcasting collection during an Oct. 6, 2010, luncheon. Former National Association of Broadcasters Chairman Edward (Eddie) Fritts was among the inductees, as well as radio legend Dick Clark, radio producer Norman Corwin, and radio personality Hal Jackson.

Other inductees include "60 Minutes" correspondent Lesley Stahl, "ABC News" correspondent Sam Donaldson and "All My Children"/"One Life to Live" creator Agnes Nixon.

Posthumous honorees include veteran CBS, CNN and NPR newsman Daniel Schorr, radio and TV host Art Linkletter, actress Rue McClanahan and TV documentary and film/TV producer David Wolper.

The event, held at the New York Grand Hyatt, was hosted by Library of American Broadcasting Foundation President/CEO Donald West. "CBS Sunday Morning" anchor Charles Osgood was the master of ceremonies.

In partnership with the University of Maryland, the Library of American Broadcasting was founded in 1967, but began in 1972 in the headquarters building of the NAB in Washington, DC. The library features more than 1,000 oral histories, 200,000 photographs and many books, pamphlets, scripts audio, video recordings and other materials following the history of broadcasting.

SBE To Stream 2010 Membership Meeting

The meeting will be streamed live on Oct. 27, 2010....

2010 NAB Marconi Radio Award Winners

Awards were announced Thursday night at the annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner &a,p; Show held at the Radio Show in Washington, DC....