NAB Announces 2013 Engineering Achievement Awards

Publish date:

NAB Announces 2013 Engineering Achievement Awards

Feb 12, 2013 9:00 AM

Feb 11, 2013 - Washington - Each year, the National Association of Broadcasters selects notable members of broadcast's technical community for recognition with Engineering Achievement Awards. First established in 1959, the awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.

Image placeholder title

2013 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award
This year's award winner for Radio Engineering Achievement is Frank Foti. A largely self-taught radio engineer, Foti first made his mark on the industry as chief engineer at a number of legendary FM stations, starting in the late 1970s at WMMS/WHK, Cleveland, through KSAN/KNEW, San Francisco, and ultimately to WHTZ Z-100, New York. By the late 1980s, his audio processing prowess was so in demand that he shifted from station work to full-time manufacturing, founding Cutting Edge Technologies. In 1992, he joined forces with Steve Church's Telos Systems, rebranding his audio processing line as the Omnia Audio division of Telos. Foti now serves as CEO of the Telos Alliance.

Through the years, Foti has shown continuous ability to innovate, developing a long list of advances to the art of broadcast audio processing. Some of these developments have subsequently been patented and/or become well-established elements within the industry. His efforts did not stop at product design, but extended to evangelism toward the general improvement of broadcast audio quality. Most recently he has pioneered the development of Single Sideband Suppressed Carrier (SSBSC) modulation for FM stereo subcarriers.

Foti's many colleagues credit him with unselfish assistance to engineers on the ground at radio stations worldwide. Others cite his balanced understanding of radio technology and business needs. His presence is often felt at industry events, both on the exhibit floor and in conference rooms, where he has presented numerous papers on the subject of broadcast audio. He also co-authored a chapter on "Transmission Audio Processing" in the "NAB Engineering Handbook."

Image placeholder title

2013 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award
This year's award winner for Television Engineering Achievement is Jay Adrick. Adrick is currently vice president, broadcast technology in the CTO Group of Harris, a position he has held since 2008. He has been with Harris since 1996, when it acquired Midwest Communications, where Adrick had worked since 1978.

Previously he had been a professor of broadcast communications and director of radio and TV at Xavier University. Earlier he served in the U.S. Navy, and as an engineer and design consultant at several radio and TV stations in the Akron and Cincinnati, OH, markets.

Adrick holds a B.S. and a masters in education from Xavier University. His career has been marked by strong design and project leadership skills, coupled with strategic vision and formidable educational abilities. Adrick brought all of these attributes to bear most notably in his untiring efforts toward the conversion to digital television, dating back to the early 1990s, and including important contributions to the Harris/PBS DTV Express mobile demonstration system. He continues to work on the rollout of ATSC mobile digital television. His unceasing enthusiasm toward broadcasting is often cited as a unifying force that has provided significant contribution to many collaborative industry efforts.

Beyond his many product design and development achievements at Harris, Adrick has led technical teams on major broadcast system implementations around the world, and perennially participated in countless SBE, SMPTE and NAB educational efforts.

Always a passionate and eloquent advocate for the broadcast technology industry, Adrick has served as vice-chair and on the board of directors of the ATSC, and chaired the Open Mobile Video Coalition (OMVC) Mobile DTV Forum. Most recently he has led the ATSC's development of a mobile emergency alerting system (M-EAS) for Mobile DTV.

Image placeholder title

2013 NAB Service to Broadcast Engineering Award
This year, the NAB presents a special award that is reserved for certain individuals who have been identified as providing extraordinary service to the industry that may not have been broadly heralded or adequately recognized. An NAB Service to Broadcast Engineering award is presented to Leonard J. Charles, director of engineering, Midwest, at Morgan Murphy Media. Charles is credited by his peers for outstanding service to his company and the broadcast industry, and for furthering the goals and objectives of the SBE. His efforts and recognitions in the SBE are myriad, including service on its board of directors and currently as an Ennes Educational Foundation trustee, and his naming as a Fellow and Engineer of the Year (twice).

He has also served on the FCC National Advisory Committee for EAS and the FCC Communications Security Reliability and Interoperability Council (CSRIC), the Wisconsin State Emergency Communications Committee and its Amber Alert Committee, the Dane County (WI) EAS Committee, the MSTV Engineering Committee and the NAB TV Technology Committee. Charles is active in the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association, as well, and has chaired its Broadcasters Clinic.

Charles is widely recognized for his work in improving the Emergency Alert System (EAS), and for educating broadcasters on EAS compliance. His colleagues also note their appreciation for his ability to present technical issues in clear and understandable terms to any audience.

All awards will be presented at the NAB Technology Luncheon, to be held at the 2013 NAB Show in Las Vegas on April 10, 2013.

Fake EAS Message Warns of Zombie Apocalypse

The falsified message was carried on stations in Montana, Utah and Michigan....

IAAIS Seeks Presentation Proposals for 2013 Conference

Submit written proposals by March 15, 2013....

NAB Engineering Achievement Award Winners

The National Association of Broadcasters established the NAB Engineering Achievement Award in 1959 to recognize an individual's accomplishments and contributions to the broadcast industry....