NAB Seeks Nominations for 2008 Engineering Achievement Awards

Publish date:

NAB Seeks Nominations for 2008 Engineering Achievement Awards

Nov 19, 2007 4:10 PM

Washington - Nov 19, 2007 - The National Association of Broadcasters established the NAB Engineering Achievement Award in 1959 to recognize an individual's accomplishments and contributions to the broadcast industry. Award winners are recognized as pioneers, innovators and leaders in the field of broadcast engineering. The NAB seeks nominations for the award, which will be presented at the Technology Luncheon at NAB2008 on April 16.

The NAB began giving separate awards for achievements in radio and television in 1991. The sole factor determining who wins the NAB's Engineering Achievement Awards are the merits of an individual's contributions to broadcast engineering. The candidates for the two Engineering Achievement Awards will be evaluated on the basis of a single significant contribution or multiple contributions made over a period of time that have significantly advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering. Candidates for the award will have made contributions in one or more of the following categories:

  • Inventions
  • Development of new techniques
  • Dissemination of technical knowledge and literature
  • Leadership in broadcast engineering affairs
  • An outstanding contribution which, in the opinion of the NAB Executive Committee, warrants consideration Candidates for the Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards must be or have been an owner, officer or employee of any company, subsidiary or division whose primary business is broadcasting, or directly supports broadcasting, including employees of the federal government directly engaged in broadcast engineering work. The NAB Executive Committee will select the award winners.Previous award winners include Radio magazine Technical Editor John Battison and Bob Orban. The complete list of previous NAB Engineering Achievement Award winners is posted on the Radio magazine website. The award nomination form is available at the NAB website or by calling 202-429-5346. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 15, 2008.