NAB Taps King for Engineering Achievement Award

The National Association of Broadcasters has announced the 2015 recipients of the NAB Engineering Awards
Publish date:

Thomas King

Image placeholder title

WASHINGTON� The National Association of Broadcasters has announced the 2015 recipients of the NAB Engineering Awards.

Thomas F. King of Kintronic Labs and Fox�s Richard M. Friedel have been named the 2015 recipients of the NAB Engineering Achievement Awards for radio and television, respectively. In addition, an NAB Service to Broadcast Engineering Award will be presented to Ray Conover, senior engineering consultant for Hubbard Broadcasting.

Richard Friedel

Image placeholder title

The recipients will be honored at the NAB Show Technology Luncheon April 15 in Las Vegas.

King is the president of Kintronic Labs, a company founded by his father (Louis King), a 2007 recipient of the NAB Engineering Award. King worked with the Star-H Corporation in the joint development of the Kinstar AM low profile, high efficiency, wideband antenna � the first of its kind accepted by the FCC for full-time omnidirectional operation. He has been a strong advocate with the industry and at the FCC reflecting his company�s vision to comprehensively improve AM broadcasting.

Ray Conover

Image placeholder title

Friedel is the executive vice president and general manager for Fox Networks Engineering and Operations and oversees long-term technology strategy and day-to-day operations for the Fox Network Center in Los Angeles. He serves as president of the Video Services Forum, is the FOX representative on the NABA board of directors and is a Board member of the ATSC.

Conover is a senior engineering consultant at Hubbard Broadcasting. He also served as chairman of the Consumer Electronics Association antenna committee that documented standards for the performance, test and measurement of TV receive antennas.

First established in 1959, the Engineering Achievement Awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.


BFA Names 2015 Leadership Award Recipients promo image

BFA Names 2015 Leadership Award Recipients

The Broadcasters Foundation of America has announced the recipients of the 2015 Ward L. Quaal Leadership Awards, to be presented at the foundation’s annual breakfast at 7 a.m., Wednesday, April 15 during the National Association of Broadcasters Show in Las Vegas