NABEF Appoints New Directors

Publish date:

NABEF Appoints New Directors

Jan 22, 2009 2:38 PM

Washington, DC - Jan 22, 2009 - David Barrett, president and CEO of Hearst-Argyle Television, and Larry Patrick, managing partner of Patrick Communications, were recently named to the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) board of directors. Both candidates were approved unanimously by the NABEF board of directors during the group's December meeting.

Larry Patrick is managing partner and founder of Patrick Communications, a media brokerage and investment banking firm that has handled more than $6.5 billion in transactions in recent years. He has completed hundreds of radio and television brokerage deals and has also worked with dozens of group owners, private equity funds, Wall Street firms and lenders over the past 30 years. Patrick is the current owner of 14 radio stations in Wyoming, and part owner of GoodRadio.TV, with 26 radio stations in Missouri and Iowa. His previous experience includes service as COO of Gilmore Broadcasting and senior vice president of the NAB. Patrick holds a Ph.D. in communications and management, as well as a law degree. He is chairman of the NAB's Political Action Committee and past president of both the National Association of Media Brokers and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA).

David Barrett is president and CEO of Hearst-Argyle Television, and is a board member of Hearst-Argyle Television and the Hearst Corporation. He is also a trustee of the trust established under the will of William Randolph Hearst and a director of both the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and The Hearst Foundation. He serves on the boards of directors of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), Association for Maximum Service Television (MSTV), the Emma L. Bowen Foundation and various other boards. Barrett is past chairman of the board of governors for the ABC Television Affiliates Association and the Federal Communication Commission's Media Security and Reliability Council (MSRC II).

NABEF's Board of Directors include board chairman Gary Chapman, president, Gary R. Chapman Consulting; David Barrett, president and CEO, Hearst-Argyle Television; David Kennedy, CEO and vice chairman, Interep; Philip Lombardo, CEO, Citadel Communications; Virginia Morris, president, Hubbard Radio; Larry Patrick, managing partner, Patrick Communications; David Rehr, president and CEO, NAB; Bruce Reese, president and CEO, Bonneville International; Jack Sander, senior advisor, Belo; Charles Warfield, president/COO, ICBC Broadcast Holdings; and Marcellus Alexander, who serves as the NABEF's president.