NABEF Partners with 10 Universities in Scholarship Program

Publish date:

NABEF Partners with 10 Universities in Scholarship Program

May 20, 2008 5:04 PM

Washington, DC - May 19, 2008 - The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) has formed a partnership with 10 schools from across the country for the NABEF Scholars Program. The program, launched in 2006, provides scholarships to outstanding communications students with financial need from diverse backgrounds. To administer the scholarships, NABEF has teamed with 10 universities to provide one scholarship to a deserving student at each university in the amount of $5,000 per year for the student's junior and senior years. The participating schools for the 2008-2010 program are:

  • Ball State University, Muncie, IN
  • Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA
  • Jackson State University, Jackson, MS
  • New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Greensboro, NC
  • Savannah State University, Savannah, GA
  • Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, Edwardsville, IL
  • St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud, MN
  • University of Montana, Missoula, MT
  • University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Eau Claire, WI

The scholarships, aimed at increasing diversity in broadcasting, are awarded to broadcasting majors who have demonstrated ability and promise in the communications field. Each student must maintain at least a 2.0 GPA to continue the scholarship through their senior year. As part of the scholarship, students must perform an internship at a licensed radio or television station.

The NAB Education Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving the public interest in supporting and advocating education and training programs, strategies to increase diversity, initiatives stressing the importance of the First Amendment, community service, philanthropy and timely broadcasting issues.