National Radio Hall of Fame 2009 Posthumous Inductees

Publish date:

National Radio Hall of Fame 2009 Posthumous Inductees

Jun 17, 2009 10:47 AM

Chicago - Jun 17, 2009 - Three radio giants have been selected for posthumous induction into the National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF).

Image placeholder title

Jose Miguel Agrelot
The first Hispanic ever inducted into the National Radio Hall of Fame, Agrelot was the most dominant media personality in Puerto Rico until his death in 2004. Known as The Puerto Rican Bob Hope, Agrelot developed hundreds of different characters during his radio career, including his best known Don Cholito. He started the longest running program in Puerto Rican radio history Su Tu Alegre Despertar which aired for more than 50 years.

Image placeholder title

Harry Kalas
A Philadelphia radio icon who began his career in 1961 calling minor league games while he was in the U.S. Army stationed in Hawaii. Kalas made his major league debut in 1965 calling games for the Houston Astros before being hired as the voice of the Philadelphia Phillies in 1971. Kalas, who was also the voice of NFL Films, was nicknamed Harry the K. Kalas won the hearts of Phillies fans and lived to see his team win the World Series, but collapsed and died on April 13, 2009.

Image placeholder title

Studs Terkel
The legendary host of his own program on WFMT/Chicago from 1958 to 1998. Terkel was known for his unique interviewing style, which showcased his personal curiosity for the common man as well as the politicians and celebrities who passed his way. An internationally acclaimed personality and best-selling author, Terkel was also an inspirational figure and mentor to a younger generation of journalists and literary figures until his death at age 96 on Oct. 31, 2008.

In addition to the three 2009 posthumous inductions, a list of NRHOF nominees in four additional categories will be released on June 29. Online balloting to select the remaining Radio Hall of Fame Class of 2009 will begin on June 29 and end at midnight Aug. 1 at

National Radio Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2008

Seven personalities and one program have been chosen in the voting...

Radio Hall of Fame Announces 2007 Inductees

Sean Hannity will host this year's Radio Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Nov. 3, 2007 at the Renaissance Chicago Hotel......