NBC Sports to be Inducted into NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame

Publish date:

NBC Sports to be Inducted into NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame

Mar 24, 2010 10:36 AM

Washington - Mar 23, 2010 - NBC Sports will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame during the NAB Show Television Luncheon. Accepting the honor on behalf of NBC Sports is Dick Ebersol, chairman of NBC Universal Sports & Olympics. The Luncheon will be held on April 12, in Las Vegas.

NBC Sports broadcasts a number of sporting events, including the Olympics, the National Football League (NFL), the National Hockey League (NHL), Notre Dame football, the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, the PGA Tour, the United States Golf Association (USGA) Championships, Wimbledon and the French Open.

Ebersol has produced eight of the top 10 most-watched television events in U.S. history and recently produced three milestone television events: the Beijing Olympic Games in 2008 became the most-watched event in U.S. television history with a record 215 million viewers; the Vancouver Olympic Winter Games in 2010 were the second-most watched Winter Olympics in history with 190 million viewers, trailing only the Lillehammer Games in 1994; and Super Bowl XLIII in February 2009 produced, at the time, the largest-single audience in U.S. television history with a record 152 million viewers. It is currently the second-most viewed program of all time.

Ebersol's crowning achievement has been establishing NBC Universal as the home of the Olympic Games. Beginning in 1967, when he temporarily dropped out of Yale University to join Roone Arledge and ABC Sports as television's first-ever Olympic researcher, his passion has been the Olympics. In 1989, Ebersol returned to NBC as president of NBC Sports. He served as executive producer for the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games, his first Olympics since Munich in 1972 for ABC, and then began a run of Olympic rights agreements.

Ebersol's career is unique, in part, because of its diversity. In addition to his sports prowess, Ebersol, along with Lorne Michaels, whom he hired, conceived and created "Saturday Night Live." As an independent producer, he created Emmy Award-winning programs such as "Friday Night Videos" and "Later with Bob Costas." Ebersol also served as senior vice president of NBC News.

Previous NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame television inductees include Bob Newhart, Bob Barker, NBC's "Meet the Press," Regis Philbin, "The Tonight Show," "Saturday Night Live," Ted Koppel, "M*A*S*H," "60 Minutes," "The Today Show" and "Star Trek," among others.

James Quello to Posthumously Receive BFA Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award

Quello is being recognized for his lifelong advocacy of free, over-the-air broadcasting....

2010 NAB Crystal Radio Awards Finalists Announced

Since 1987, the NAB Crystal Radio Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service....