New York Festivals Announces 2009 Radio Programming and Promotion Awards Finalists

Publish date:

New York Festivals Announces 2009 Radio Programming and Promotion Awards Finalists

Jun 15, 2009 10:29 AM

New York, NY - Jun 15, 2009 - New York Festivals announced the finalists for the 2009 Radio Programming and Promotion Awards.� Now in its 27th year, the competition honors the most original and innovative work in radio broadcasting with entries from radio stations, networks and independent producers from around the world. This year's international grand jury selected 166 entries from 18 countries as finalists in the first round.

Top honors went to Canadian Broadcasting Corporation who took the lead in the preliminary round with 14 finalists, followed by Sirius Satellite Radio with 8 finalists. Companies with multiple finalists also include Radio Free Asia, Australian Broadcasting Corporation and RTE. All radio finalists will go on to the second round of judging to determine gold, silver and bronze award winners.

New categories were added to the 2009 competition as NYF's Radio Awards continues to evolve with consumers and technology. Finalists announced in the Online and Satellite categories include Radio Mitre, Sirius Satellite Radio, Oprah Radio and UNICEF Radio.

All entries in the 2009 competition were judged by the NYF Radio Programming and Promotion Awards Grand Jury consisting of radio experts from stations and companies around the globe. The jury represents the most recognizable voices and captivating programming producers in the medium of radio from 5 continents and over 30 countries.� Entries are judged based on their production values, presentation of information, creativity and use of the medium. Each jury member listens to and scores entries through the NYF judging website. This process ensures each judge is allowed a personal environment in which to listen to each entry without distraction or influence from other jury members.

A complete list of the 2009 NYF Radio Programming and Promotion Awards Finalists is featured at

The 2009 Radio Programming and Promotion Awards winners will be announced later in June 2009, and all winning entries will be featured in the showcase section of the group's website.

NAB Engineering Achievement Award Winners

The National Association of Broadcasters established the NAB Engineering Achievement Award in 1959 to recognize an individual's accomplishments and contributions to the broadcast industry....

APRE Announces 2009 Engineering Award Recipients

Two engineers were honored: John Kean of NPR and Don Danko of Cincinnati Public Radio....