NRHOF Honors Class of 2014

Publish date:

NRHOF Honors Class of 2014

Nov 14, 2014 12:56 PM

LOS ANGELES � The National Radio Hall of Fame held their Class of 2014 Induction Dinner and Broadcast to honor Charlie & Harrigan, Barry Farber, Ira Glass, Stanley E. Hubbard, Jon Miller, Agnes Moorehead and Dick Orkin on Sunday, November 9th, at Cicada Club in downtown Los Angeles.

provided by the Museum of Broadcast Communications

The event was the first gala for the foundation held outside of Chicago in 25 years.

In related news, The Art Laboe Foundation, Inc. made a donation to assist in the building of a control room at the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago. The studio was named in honor of the donor and broadcast icon, may be used as a broadcast facility for out-of-town personalities to do their shows when in Chicago and it also serves as a learning place for students.

�In 2012 I was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame, was inspired by the museum and was able to contribute,� said Laboe. �I hope to get back to the museum again and check out the studio that will be used by radio legends and will inspire our next generation of broadcasters."

Art Laboe coined the phrase �Oldies But Goodies.� He was the first DJ to play Rock and Roll on Los Angeles/West Coast radio in the 1950s, was the first to do dedications on the radio and the legend continues with his current nightly syndicated radio show, The Art Laboe Connection, which is heard on his flagship station KHHFT(FM) Los Angeles weekdays 7 p.m.�12 a.m. and Sunday 6 p.m.�12 a.m. PT.

The National Radio Hall of Fame recognizes and showcases contemporary talent from today's diverse programming formats, as well as the pioneers who shaped the medium during it's infancy. The NRHOF resides within the Museum of Broadcast Communications.