Osgood to Receive NAB Distinguished Service Award

Publish date:

Osgood to Receive NAB Distinguished Service Award

Dec 14, 2007 10:37 AM

Image placeholder title

Washington, DC - Dec 13, 2007 - Charles Osgood, anchor of CBS News Sunday Morning and of CBS Radio Network's The Osgood File, will be honored with the NAB Distinguished Service Award during NAB2008. The award will be presented during the All Industry Opening Keynote on April 14.

Known as CBS News' poet-in-residence, Osgood has anchored Sunday Morning, considered one television's highest quality programs, since 1994 and has been called one of the last great broadcast writers by his Sunday Morning predecessor, Charles Kuralt. Every week Osgood closes Sunday Morning with his signature, "I'll see you on the radio," where his voice is known to millions who tune into his daily news commentary on The Osgood File.

He has been recognized with four Emmy Awards and three George Foster Peabody Awards. His radio program, The Osgood File, has been the five-time recipient of the Washington Journalism Review's Best in the Business Awards. In 1999, Osgood received the Radio Mercury Award and the International Radio and Television Society Foundation (IRTS) Award for significant achievement. He also received a 1996 President's Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers for outstanding coverage and support of music creators. In 1993, Osgood received an NAB Marconi Radio Award.

He was also the recipient of the Paul White Award, presented by the Radio-Television News Directors Association, for lifetime contribution to electronic journalism, and the Walter Cronkite Excellence in Journalism Award from Arizona State University in 2005. He was inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 1990.

Before joining CBS News in September 1971, Osgood was an anchor/reporter for WCBS-AM in New York. Prior to that, he worked for ABC News, was the general manager of WHCT-TV Hartford, CT, and the program director and manager of WGMS-FM Washington, DC.