Radio Club of America Honors Cronkite

Publish date:

Radio Club of America Honors Cronkite

Sep 10, 2007 11:12 AM

Littleton, CO - Aug 31, 2007 - The Radio Club of America has conferred honorary membership upon Walter Cronkite. Cronkite is best known as the anchor of the �CBS Evening News� program from 1962 to 1981 and as America''s eyewitness to history.

In its nearly 99-year history, RCA has given only 26 honorary memberships. It is the highest distinction given by RCA, which will be celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2009. Among previous honorary members were Paul F. Godley, 2ZE, a participant in the first transatlantic communication by amateur radio, and Harold A. Wheeler, known for broadcast receiver development and tracking and guidance radar in missile systems.

Along with John S. �Jack� Belrose, Ph.D., VE2CV, Cronkite also has been selected to receive RCA''s Armstrong Medal, the organization''s foremost achievement award. The presentation is scheduled for Nov. 16, 2007, during RCA''s annual banquet.