Radio Performance Fee Opposition Resolution Introed in Senate

Publish date:

Radio Performance Fee Opposition Resolution Introed in Senate

May 13, 2008 8:44 AM

Washington, DC - May 12, 2008 - A resolution was introduced in the U.S. Senate that opposes adoption of radio performance fees. The resolution, introduced by Senators Blanche Lincoln (D-AR) and Roger Wicker (R-MS), has gained the support of Senators Wayne Allard (R-CO), Sam Brownback (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ben Nelson (D-NE) and James Webb (D-VA). Similar legislation was introduced last year in the U.S. House of Representatives by Reps. Gene Green (D-TX) and Mike Conaway (R-TX). The House resolution has support from more than 200 lawmakers.

The resolution was introduced to support the Local Radio Freedom Act, which seeks to block new performance fees on local radio stations. According to the resolution, "Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over the air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings."

The NAB has opposed the performance fee being proposed by the RIAA, and has mislabeled the fee a tax in its efforts.

Read the Senate and House resolutions.