Reese to Receive National Radio Award

Publish date:

Reese to Receive National Radio Award

May 21, 2008 4:40 PM

Washington, DC - May 21, 2008 - Bruce Reese, president and CEO of Bonneville International, will receive the NAB National Radio Award at The NAB Radio Show, held Sept. 17-19 in Austin, TX. Reese has served as chairman of the NAB Radio Board and the NAB Joint Board of Directors. During his tenure as Joint Board chairman, Reese helped establish NAB Fastroad (Flexible Advanced Services for Television and Radio On All Devices), a technology advocacy program aimed at developing new technologies for broadcasters. As the immediate past joint board chairman, Reese also currently serves on the NAB Executive Committee.

In addition to his leadership at NAB, Reese has served on the board of directors for the Associated Press and Radio Advertising Bureau. He currently serves on the NAB Education Foundation's board of directors, where Bonneville is the charter sponsor for the Celebration of Service to America Awards, an event established by NABEF in 1999 recognizing broadcasters for outstanding service to their local communities.

For years, Reese has demonstrated his commitment to community service through his participation in a number of organizations, including the Salt Lake Area Chamber and Pioneer Theater Company. Within the medical community, Reese has worked with the Primary Children's Medical Center and the LDS Hospital Heart and Lung Institute Community, both of which are owned and operated by Intermountain Healthcare, where Reese has served on the board of trustees. Reese has served on the board of directors for United Way of Salt Lake, where he was recently honored with the 2008 Compassionate Leader of the Year Award, as well as the Brigham Young University Alumni Association, where he received his bachelor's degree in 1973 and juris doctorate in 1976.

As president and CEO of Bonneville International Corporation, Reese oversees and operates 31 radio stations and KSL-TV Salt Lake City. Prior to joining Bonneville, Reese practiced law at firms in Washington, DC, and Denver.

Previous National Radio Award recipients include last year's honoree Jerry Lee, David Kennedy, John Dille, Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Bill Stakelin and Nancy Widmann.