RTNDA Announces 2007 Murrow Award Winners

Publish date:

RTNDA Announces 2007 Murrow Award Winners

Jun 22, 2007 9:50 AM

Image placeholder title

Washington - Jun 21, 2007 - The Radio-Television News Directors Association has honored outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. The association announced the national winners for 2007.

The complete list of award winners is available on the RTNDA website. Here are the winners in the radio categories.

Radio Network/Syndication Service
Overall Excellence: CBS Radio News
Continuing Coverage: CBS Radio News, Middle East War
Feature - Hard News: CBC National Radio News, A North Korea Border Tragic Comedy in One Act
Feature Reporting: ABC News Radio, 9/11 Remembered: A Firefighter's Story
Investigative Reporting: ABC News Radio, Brian Ross Investigates: The Mark Foley Scandal
News Documentary: National Public Radio, Thembi's AIDS Diary
News Series: Associated Press, Olympic Reports
Newscast: ABC News Radio, ABC Information Network Newscast
Sports Reporting: ABC News Radio, Game of Shadows
Spot News Coverage: ABC News Radio, The Cory Lidle Crash
Use of Sound: ABC News Radio, A Reporter's Notebook: Fort Hood
Writing: CBS Radio News, Just a Minute

Radio Large Market
Overall Excellence: WBAL-AM, Baltimore
Continuing Coverage: WTMJ-AM, Milwaukee, Milwaukee's Missing Boys
Feature - Hard News: WBUR-FM, Boston, Skin Shock
Feature Reporting: KGO-AM, San Francisco, Derrill's Legacy
Investigative Reporting: WBAL-AM, Baltimore, Going Around in 9-1-1 Circles
News Documentary: WBUR-FM, Boston, Boston Medical Center
News Series: WSB-AM, Atlanta, Atlanta's Top 5 Consumer Scams
Newscast: KCBS-AM, San Francisco, KCBS 9AM News
Sports Reporting: WBUR-FM, Boston, Kenya's Fastest Town
Spot News Coverage: KCBS-AM, San Francisco, Hit and Run
Use of Sound: KIRO-AM, Seattle, Sound of Movie Music
Website: KCBS-AM, San Francisco, www.kcbs.com
Writing: WBZ-AM, Boston, Who's on First

Radio Small Market
Overall Excellence: KFDI-FM, Wichita, KS
Continuing Coverage: WCHS-AM, Charleston, WV, The Sago Mine Disaster
Feature - Hard News: WITF-FM, Harrisburg, PA, Remembering Flight 93 Five Years Later
Feature Reporting: WVPS-FM, Colchester, VT, Peace Songs
Investigative Reporting: KBIA-FM, Columbia, MO, Dead Voters
News Documentary: KHUM-TV, Ferndale, CA, Picking Up: Meth on the North Coast
News Series: WDEL-AM, Wilmington, DE, From Fat to Fit: Childhood Obesity in The First State
Newscast: CKGL-AM, Kitchner, ON
Sports Reporting: WSLU-FM, Canton, NY, Rugby Brings Elegance and Violence to Adirondacks
Spot News Coverage: KFDI-FM, Wichita, KS, Sedgwick County Hailstorm
Use of Sound: WMSI/WQJQ-FM, Jackson, MS, Theater of War
Website: WDEL-AM, Wilmington, DE, www.wdel.com
Writing: WVPS-FM, Burlington, VT, Coffin

National Murrow winners will be honored at the RTNDA Awards Dinner on Oct. 15, 2007, at the Grand Hyatt New York.