SBE 2012 National Awards Recognize Boswell, Pecena, Orban and Radio magazine

Publish date:

SBE 2012 National Awards Recognize Boswell, Pecena, Orban and Radio magazine

Aug 3, 2012 9:06 AM

Image placeholder title

Indianapolis - Aug 3, 2012 - Recipients of the 2012 Society of Broadcast Engineers have been announced. The Robert W. Flanders SBE Engineer of the Year Award goes to Wiely Boswell and the James C. Wulliman SBE Educator of the Year Award goes to Wayne Pecena. The SBE also honored Radio magazine with the Best Technical Article Award by recognizing an article by Doug Irwin, CPBE AMD DRB, from the December 2011 issue titled "Ethernet-based Audio Routing: A How-to Guide."

This marks the 10th time an article from Radio magazine has received the honor, and the ninth time in a row. Radio magazine received the honor in 2011, 2010, 2008-2009, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003 and 1999.

Image placeholder title

Robert W. Flanders SBE Engineer of the Year Wiely Boswell, CBRE, is the chief engineer for Faith Radio in Montgomery, AL, and is the current chairman of SBE Chapter 118. Boswell is a graduate of the University of Alabama, with a major in electrical engineering technology. Boswell is recognized for making significant contributions to the field of broadcast engineering through his work at Faith Radio and for furthering the goals and objectives of the SBE.

Image placeholder title

James C. Wulliman SBE Educator of the Year Wayne Pecena, CPBE 8-VSB AMD DRB CBNT, is the assistant director of educational broadcast services in the Office of Information Technology at Texas A&M University. In this position, Pecena serves as the director of engineering of TTVN; the enterprise videoconference and data network serving the Texas A&M University system and public broadcast stations KAMU-TV and KAMU-FM. He has more than 35 years of broadcast telecommunications experience and holds a bacheolor's degree and master's degree from Texas A&M University. Pecena serves as a volunteer member the SBE Education Committee.

Pecena's educational efforts during the past year include, presenting at two SBE Ennes Workshops presentations, a Webinars by SBE presentation and a presentation at the NAB Show on Managing IT. Pecena's current work includes a series of webinars, which highlight areas of the SBE's new Certified Broadcast Networking Engineer (CBNE) exam.

Orban is the recipient of the SBE Technology Award for its free BS.1770-2/R 128 and CBS Loudness Meter. It is available for Windows or Mac and includes a suite of measurements including momentary, short-term and integrated loudness as well as many other features. The free software can be accessed at

SBE Chapter 15, New York City is being recognized for Best Social Media Site and Best Frequency Coordination Effort. SBE Chapter 24, Madison, WI, is being recognized for their achievements over the past year with three awards including, Best Regional Convention, Best Chapter Newsletter and Best Chapter Website.

The SBE statistical awards recognize two chapters, based on chapter enrollment. Class A represents chapters whose membership is less than the national median. Class B includes chapters with a membership greater than the national median.

Chapter Awards

Greatest Growth in New Members Award
A - Chapter 146, U.S. Virgin Islands
B - Chapter 35, Kentucky

Most Certified Chapter Award
A - Chapter 96, Rockford, IL - tie
A - Chapter 118, Montgomery, AL - tie
B - Chapter 24, Madison, WI - tie
B - Chapter 131, Inland Empire, CA - tie

Highest Member Attendance Award
A - Chapter 136, Rio Grande Valley - tie
A - Chapter 145, Magic Valley, ID - tie
B - Chapter 76, Eugene, OR

.All awards will be presented during the SBE National Awards Recognition Dinner and Reception on Oct. 23, 2012, during the SBE National Meeting held in conjunction with the Rocky Mountain Audio/Video Expo and the Engineer's Boot Camp in Denver.

Radio magazine Awards, Honors and Recognitions

Radio magazine has been recognized for editorial excellence by the Society of Broadcast Engineers, the Association of Business Publication Editors, Folio magazine, the Missouri Association of Publications and other groups....

2012 NAB Marconi Radio Award ?Finalists Announced

The awards include Legendary Station, Personality of the Year, and station of the year by market size and format....