SBE Elects Officers and Directors

Publish date:

SBE Elects Officers and Directors

Aug 29, 2008 1:00 PM

Image placeholder title

Indianapolis - Aug 28, 2008 - The Society of Broadcast Engineers has tallied the results of its national elections. Re-elected as the society's president is Barry Thomas, CPBE CBNT, vice president of engineering for Radio Lincoln Financial Media, Atlanta. Following the election results, Thomas said, "I look forward to the roll-out of the first on-demand education courses. I also am hopeful for an even more successful year taking our message to engineers and gathering more support for our shared objectives."

Vincent Lopez, CEV CBNT, will serve another term as vice president. Lopez is currently director of engineering for WSYT-TV/WNYS-TV, Syracuse, NY. Ted Hand, CPBE 8-VSB AMD, chief engineer for WSOC-TV/WAXN-TV, Charlotte, NC, was re-elected as secretary, and Ralph Hogan, CPBE CBNT DRB, director of engineering of KJZZ/KBAQ, Tempe, AZ, was re-elected as treasurer.

The board of directors has 12 seats, and each director servers a two-year term. The board seats are staggered so that 6 positions are included in each annual election. Elected to the board to begin two-year terms are:

  • Ralph Beaver, CBT; President, CEO, Media Alert; Tampa, FL
  • Jim Bernier, CPBE CBNT; Director, Maintenance, Design and Engineering, Turner Entertainment Networks, TBS; Alpharetta, GA
  • Gary Liebisch, CPBE; Regional Sales Manager, Nautel; Milford, OH
  • Scott Mason, CPBE; Regional Director of Engineering, CBS Radio; Los Angeles
  • Mark Simpson, CPBE CBNT AMD; Director of Engineering/MIS, Citadel Broadcasting - Tucson; Marana, AZ
  • Jeffrey R. Smith, CEA CBNT; Supervisor Broadcast Systems, CE WWPR, Clear Channel Radio - NYC; New York City

    The remaining six members of the board of directors currently in the middle of their two-year terms are Cris Alexander, CPBE AMD DRB, director of engineering, Crawford Broadcasting, Denver; Andrea Cummis, CBT CTO, engineering and operations consultant, A.C. Video, Roseland, NJ; Dane Ericksen, CSRTE CBNT 8-VSB, senior engineer, Hammett and Edison, Sonoma, CA; Clay Freinwald, CPBE, RF systems engineer, Entercom-Seattle, Auburn, WA; Hal Hostetler, CPBE, senior engineer/IT director, KVOA Communications, Tucson, AZ; and Jerry Massey, CPBE CBNT 8-VSB AMD DRB, corporate regional engineer and director of engineering, Entercom Communications, Greenville, SC. Chriss Scherer, CPBE CBNT, will remain on the board as the immediate past president.When the new directors take their offices, directors Keith Kintner, CPBE CBNT; Tom Ray, CPBE; Chris Tarr, CBRE CBT CBNT DRB; and Larry Wilkins, CPBE CBNT AMD; will step down from the board.SBE officers serve one-year terms. Board members serve two-year terms. The new officers and board members will be sworn in at the SBE national meeting in Madison, WI, on Oct. 15.