Senate Confirms Pai and Rosenworcel as FCC Commissioners

Publish date:

Senate Confirms Pai and Rosenworcel as FCC Commissioners

May 7, 2012 3:44 PM

Washington - May7, 2012 - The Senate has confirmed Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel as the newest members of the Federal Communications Commission. The confirmations had been on hold by Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), who wanted the FCC to release documents on wireless startup LightSquared. A compromise on documentation had been reached between the FCC and Grassley.

Image placeholder title

The Senate unanimously approved the two nominees. Democrat Jessica Rosenworcel and Republican Ajit Pai fill the two empty seats at the FCC.

Image placeholder title

Pai fills the seat left open by Meredith Attwell Baker, who left the FCC to become NBC's lobbyist after the FCC approved Comcast's acquisition of a majority stake in NBCUniversal from General Electric. Pai has worked as a Senate staffer and in the FCC's general counsel's office under Julius Genachowski. Pai has been a partner in the litigation department of law firm Jenner and Block.

Rosenworcel fills the seat previously held by Michael Copps. She served as a legal adviser for Mr. Copps at the FCC for four years before leaving to become a telecom adviser to Senate Commerce Committee Chairman Jay Rockefeller (D-WV).

FCC Issues NPRM on FY2012 Regulatory Fees

The FCC plans to raise nearly $340 million from regulatory fees in 2012....

May 16, 2012, is High School Radio Day

Like College Radio Day in October, High School Radio Day is designed to promote awareness of high school radio stations, their service to their communities and the outlet for students to learn about radio....