SMPTE Elects Officers and Governors for 2016-2017

SMPTE has announced its newly elected officers and governors for the 2016-2017 term; the centennial year for the organization.
Publish date:

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y.�SMPTE has announced its newly elected officers and governors for the 2016-2017 term; the centennial year for the organization.

Image placeholder title

Paul Stechly, president at Applied Electronics, William C. Miller, president at Miltag Media Technology, and Alan Lambshead, retired from Evertz, were all re-elected to their SMPTE officer roles on the Board of Governors for another two years. Stechly will continue as the finance vice president; Miller the membership vice president; and Lambshead will remain the standards vice president.

A total of eight SMPTE governors were elected throughout the world. Five were incumbents, including Randy Conrod, senior product manager for digital products at Imagine Communications, as the Canadian region governor; John E. Ferder, director of studio and postproduction engineering at CBS, as the New York region governor; Daniel A. Burnett, senior director of sales for broadcast and media solutions at Ericsson, as Southern region governor; Mark A. Narveson, a patent attorney for Artegis Law Group, as the Western region governor; and John Maizels, a broadcast engineer with Entropy Enterprises, who will continue to serve as the Asia-Australia region governor.

The remaining three were newly elected and include John A. Luff, HD Consulting, as the Eastern region governor; Patricia Keighley, senior vice president and managing director at IMAX, as the Hollywood region governor; and Bruce Devlin, chief media scientist at Dalet, as the governor for Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and Central and South America.

The newly elected or re-elected officers and governors will join the other officers and governors who were not up for election this year on the SMPTE Board. SMPTE will appoint directors in January.



SMPTE Elects Officers and Governors for 2019-2020 Term; Patrick Griffis to Serve as SMPTE President

SMPTE®, the organization whose standards work has supported a century of advances in entertainment technology and whose membership spans the globe, today announced that its membership has elected new officers and governors for the 2019-2020 term. Patrick Griffis, vice president of technology in the Office of the CTO at Dolby Laboratories, will take office as the new SMPTE president on Jan. 1, 2019.

Image placeholder title

AES 2016 Election Results Announced

New York, NY — The AES has released the list of winning candidates from the balloting in the 2016 Audio Engineering Society international elections. The newly elected officers will assume their roles in October, shortly after the end of the 141st International AES Convention in Los Angeles.