Texas Broadcasters to Honor Four Industry Leaders

Publish date:

Texas Broadcasters to Honor Four Industry Leaders

May 28, 2014 1:49 PM

The Texas Association of Broadcasters will honor four broadcast leaders at TAB's Annual Awards Gala.

The gala, part of the association's 61st Annual Convention & Trade Show, is set for Aug. 7, from 7-10 pm at the Renaissance Austin Hotel.

George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence: Jack Sellmeyer, Sellmeyer Engineering

In 2014, TAB created the George Marti Award to recognize an individual's excellence and innovation in broadcast engineering for Texas radio and television stations. For more than 60 years, Jack Sellmeyer has been a model of professionalism and competency in the field of broadcast engineering, innovation, research and design. Engineering colleagues say he �wrote the book� on many of the practices and procedures that they use on a daily basis.

Educator of the Year: Sam Sauls, University of North Texas (retired)

Dr. Sauls has been in the field of education for more than three decades. He has combined his experience in commercial and noncommercial radio to help advance broadcasting by helping educate hundreds in the broadcast field. He served as a lecturer, assistant professor and associate professor at the University of North Texas for more than 15 years before being named associate chair and director of graduate studies for UNT's Department of Radio, Television and Film.

Broadcaster of the Year: Tom Ehlmann, KXAS-TV Dallas-Fort Worth

Ehlmann's career in broadcasting has taken him to many stations including Tribune's KHWB Houston and WGN-TV Chicago. He has been president/general manager of NBC5 in Dallas-Fort Worth since 2008. KXAS-TV was the first TV station in Texas, signing on in 1948.

Pioneer of the Year: Larry Safir, Entravision Rio Grande Valley (retired)

Larry Safir's career in broadcasting spans more than 44 years. Starting at the age of 15, he sold airtime for the nation's first Spanish-language radio station: KCOR-AM San Antonio.